Vacant weekend.

The beginning of a new SILAC week brought us humble Japanese, a new classmate (who took SILAC three years ago and has come back for a refresher), and yet another weekend where my local friends are either busy or incommunicado. Thus, the plan is to meet with the new/not-so-new guy from class, Christian (a German RPG maker). His English is pretty damn good — apparently common among the Europeans I’m meeting here.

I also got my days confirmed for private classes: Tuesday and Friday, after my regular classes. I requested a handful of things to study, which were added to by the girl in the office who set this up for me: gitaigo, giongo, douonigigo, and rugigo, all of which are common and useful. To clarify: gitaigo are sounds made to express actions or emotions that don’t actually have a sound (irritation, humidity); giongo are basically onomatopoeia; douonigigo are homonyms; rugigo are words that have a similar meaning, but aren’t interchangeable (“quasi-homonyms”). I also requested a list of grammar points I hear often but don’t quite understand how to use, which she said she’d pass along. I had originally asked for some kanji, but a couple of the residents here suggested I study those on my own, while the guy who was at ASU last year said they’re not stingy with them, so I decided it might be better to just learn grammar.

I’m heading out in an hour, so I should get ready. Hoping to find some out-of-print or cheap CDs and books, and maybe win a couple things at the game center.

Leave a Reply

