Updates.

A few updates about some of the problems I was having:

My apartment. Turns out there is somewhere to hang wet clothes: on the inside of the translucent window that opens out into the little area where the heating/AC units’ fans are. I’ll still need to get a pole or something. Hardly convenient, but there is something there. As I mentioned before, I found a laundromat down the street, so I’ve done a few loads of laundry since then. I think the dryers have been a little harder on my t-shirts than I’d like, but there’s not much I can do about that right now. The futon, by the way, is less than ideal; if I sleep any other way than on my back — which has never been easy for me — I wake up sore. Finally, I asked about my lease, and if I leave before six months are up, there’s a cancellation fee (which I remember seeing). Looks like I’ll be here for a while. Because of that, I’ve bought a few things to make the place more livable, and have a list of things I want that might counteract the apartment’s shortcomings.

Phone and internet. After some searching, I decided on a Galaxy Note III, which operates much like my tablet does, and can conceivably sync with it, now that I updated the older phone’s OS. It’s a good bit larger than my old Windows Phone, which I’ve occasionally been using as an alarm clock. It took a long time to set the whole thing up, largely due to the aforementioned OS update. (Without it, I wouldn’t have been able to sync the devices, which was primarily why I was looking at a Galaxy in the first place.) Internetwise, Ayumi at my home branch tells me that au wouldn’t be able to set me up there, but we haven’t yet scheduled a provider to come out. However, I discovered the other day that I can make my phone into a wireless hotspot, by which I can connect my tablet, old phone, old netbook, and even my Xbox 360 to the internet. The signal’s weak, but a damn sight stronger and more reliable than the flickering unsecured signal I’d been using before. As a result, I feel less disconnected from the world and have been gaming a lot more lately.

Bank account. With Takashi’s help, I got set up with a Tokyo bank. It also took a while, due to the translation and the fact that I’m a foreigner.

The weather. The temperature’s starting to drop a little, but the end of August meant the end of “cool biz,” which means employees have to start wearing their ties and jackets again. Fall can’t get here soon enough.

One thought on “Updates.

Leave a Reply

