I gripe, therefore I am.

I really like living in Japan. I can’t stress this enough. I had a dream to come here and here I am. I really like living in Japan.

That said, there are three things I really dislike:

1) Smoking in restaurants.

Call me spoiled due to America’s general indoor smoking ban, but I had really gotten used to coming home from bars and restaurants without reeking of stale cigarettes.

2) The weather.

Summer lasts six months here. Meanwhile, regardless of season, it’s more humid in 関東 than I’m used to back in the US. Also, when the temperature drops below “warm,” everyone cranks the indoor heat.

3) “I’m busy.”

I haven’t seen my non-Japanese friends in so long, I forget the last time. I honestly don’t know how anyone ever coordinates socially in this country (or dates or marries) when nobody’s schedules match.

Leave a Reply

