Odds and Ends (part 22).

  • The transition from summer to autumn here was swift; it went from being reasonably cool at night to chilly to downright cold in only a couple weeks, with day temperatures changing even faster. Only it won’t quite settle; there have been a couple warm days/evenings mixed in.
  • To add to my running series of ailments, I somehow managed to get a case of Plantar Fasciitis. The solution? Do foot stretches, wear insoles, and apply a prescribed medicated bandage at night. That or just wait for about half a year. I’ve bought two pairs of insoles, which seem to be helping.
  • Not only that, but it seems one of my Saturday-school students took a handful of man-to-man lessons while he/she had tuberculosis. This means I have to go next week and get tested. The company will pay for it, but I’m not really looking forward to getting stuck with yet another needle. やむを得ない。
  • I finally managed, after years of casual searching, to find an out-of-print, region-free console game I’ve wanted since I knew it existed. Funny enough, the day I found it, there were four copies in the same city block. It’s given me hope in finding the last couple ultra-rare items I’ve been searching for.
2 thoughts on “Odds and Ends (part 22).

  1. Back when my husband and I were shopping for secondhand records, a guide book to all of the shops that sold them was released each year telling us where used shops in Japan were located and the types of records they specialized in (as well as how many records, CDs, and singles they tended to stock). It’s too bad that you can’t get your hands on a similar guide for games. It’d probably lead you to a lot of treasures!

    • I have a rough picture, but the real division seems to be price-over-selection and selection-over-price. I just wish places like Book Off had the ability to search and transfer companywide.

Leave a Reply

